2019, Animal Music

Sně LP
LP (180 gr, white vinyl)
LP (180 gr, clear vinyl)

Buy online

On her fifth album, pianist and composer Beata Hlavenková appears as singer for the first time. Her main musical partner on this album is Oskar Török who has contributed not only in his traditional role as trumpetist but also as drummer, percussionist and singer. The title SNĚ is a shortcut for everything that the album contains: poems (báSNĚ), songs (píSNĚ) and dreams (SNĚní). Beata has chosen poems by her favourite authors, Petr Borkovec and Bohuslav Reynek, and set them to music. Two of the songs are based on her own texts and two others musicalize lyrics by Dorota Barová and Martin Vedej. In foregrounding the song form on this album, Beata removes her music further away from the limits of jazz within which she used to operate, and brings it forward in the direction of contemporary cross-genre songwriting. Her unique style, however, is still very much recognizable.

  1. Mehwa (Beata Hlavenková/Petr Borkovec)
  2. Prameny (Beata Hlavenková/Beata Hlavenková)
  3. U rybníka (Beata Hlavenková/Bohuslav Reynek)
  4. Slámka a slepýš křehký (Beata Hlavenková/Petr Borkovec)
  5. Žena (Beata Hlavenková/Beata Hlavenková)
  6. Socha (Beata Hlavenková/Petr Borkovec)
  7. Husa v mlze (Beata Hlavenková/Bohuslav Reynek)
  8. Radost (Beata Hlavenková/Bohuslav Reynek)
  9. Vzpomínka na samotu (Beata Hlavenková/Bohuslav Reynek)
  10. Plávala (Beata Hlavenková/Martin Vedej)
  11. Zapomniane (Beata Hlavenková/Dorota Barová)
Personnel and sound:
Beata Hlavenková – vocals, piano, Rhodes, Prophet, Moog, programming
Oskar Török – trumpet, drums, OP1, vocals, xaphoon, kalimba
Patrick Karpentski – guitars
Milan Cimfe, Pavla Fendrichová, Petr Ostrouchov – guest vocals

Recorded by Milan Cimfe, Vojtěch Svatoš (Sono Records), Patrick Karpentski (Czechmate Studio)
Mixed by Lukáš Martinek
Mastered by Matouš Godík

Upcoming concerts